Franchise Factbook
Anytime Fitness logo

Anytime Fitness

Partial FDD data
fitness · Woodbury, MN · Founded 2002 · Franchising since 2002
Extraction not scoredUnclaimed profile
Share fact card ↗
Total to open · Item 7
$539K–$905K
Franchise fee · Item 5
Not disclosed in the filing on record
Owner turnover
2.8%/yr
3-yr average from Item 20 — lower is better
Factbook Score
Mixed
computed, never sold
✓ No bankruptcy disclosures4 litigation disclosures · Item 3No Item 19 earnings dataPre-confidence-scoring extractionWhy these flags?

Beyond the filing

Everything else on this page is quoted from Anytime Fitness's franchise disclosure document. This is not — it is measured off the open web, it is not verified by the franchisor, and it never affects the Factbook Score.

Customer rating
4.7 / 5
3,677 Google reviews across 11 locations
Best to worst location
3.7 – 5.0
Where this brand's locations sit on the same scale — the gap is what varies between franchisees
Website health
10 / 10
Basic checks: HTTPS, mobile viewport, speed, metadata. Most sites clear them
Store locator
Yes
Their site has a finder that sends customers to their nearest branch — how walk-in trade reaches a franchisee
iPhone app
4.8 / 5
14,666 App Store ratings · AF App
Android app
Yes
Play Store link published on their own site. Google offers no free ratings API, so there is no score to show
Google returns at most twenty locations for a search, so the rating is a sample of Anytime Fitness's outlets rather than all of them. Measured Sep 11, 2026.

Research this brand properly

Every figure on this page comes from Anytime Fitness's own disclosure filings, source linked. Compare it against its category before any discovery call — and read the FDD with an attorney before signing anything.

Visit brand websiteCompare with similar brandsHave this FDD read for you

Get introduced to Anytime Fitness

We pass your details to their franchise development team so they can contact you directly. We are not a broker, we are not paid per introduction, and your details are never sold to a lead network.

Where you'd want to open — territory availability is the first thing they'll check.

We record the time and IP of the request — privacy policy.

Claim Anytime Fitness

For people who work for the brand. Once approved you can correct anything we have wrong and respond on this profile. Claiming is free and never affects the Factbook Score, the ranking, or which facts we publish.

A company address at the brand's own domain is approved fastest. A personal address is fine, but we'll ask you to verify another way.

Reviewed by a person. We record the time and IP — privacy policy.
No spam, and we never sell your details — an introduction happens only when you ask for one, to the brand you named. How we make money · Own this brand?
Shareable fact card
Franchise Factbook · verified
Opening a Anytime Fitness: $539K–$905K
From its official FDD · franchisefactbook.com
Download PNG

Pasted links unfurl as this card automatically on X, LinkedIn and WhatsApp.

Anytime Fitness - Gym in Cincinnati, Ohio, 45255

A fitness franchise included in Franchise Factbook's data-driven Top 20 boards. The profile is distinguished here by its repeated or high-ranked appearances across the selected category metrics.

From Anytime Fitness's official site, condensed by an independent research pass on August 10, 2026marketing description, not a filed fact. Source.

Anytime Fitness - Gym in Cincinnati, Ohio, 45255source

Data-integrity flags on this profile
  • infook
These figures predate our extraction-confidence scoring

They were captured before we began scoring extraction confidence, so we can't put a number on them. They remain sourced — the filing is linked below. We publish the score rather than hiding it — see the methodology.

Royalty
8%
Franchised units
4542
As of 2025
3-yr unit growth
+-1.0%/yr
CAGR from Item 20

What it really costs

Every cost figure this brand's filing discloses — not just the headline range

Total initial investment · Item 7$539K–$905K
$0$1.0M
ExpenseLowHigh
Initial franchise fee
Total initial investment$539,329$905,482

Item 7 reports a total range, not a full line-item breakdown, in this brand's filing excerpt — the franchise fee is the only cost we can show separately today.

Costs more to open than 77% of fitness franchises on this site with a disclosed Item 7 range (129 compared). Computed from total investment, not a figure from the filing itself.

Earnings disclosure

Does the franchisor share performance data? No

This brand's filing does not include an Item 19 financial performance representation. That's common — a large share of franchisors disclose nothing here — but it means you should ask for unit-level economics directly during discovery calls. Compare against fitness brands that do disclose one.

Legal history

CLEAR
No bankruptcy disclosures for the franchisor or its officers.
4 CASES
4 disclosed matters: Remarck Partners v. Gibson Center (CA, settled Nov 2019, no franchisor/affiliate payment); Canadas Fitness v. Anytime Fitness Iberia (Spain, pending, ~EUR1.1M sought); Illinois v. Bar Method Franchisor (2009 consent decree, $5,000 penalty, affiliate); New York v. Bar Method Inc. (2009 Assurance of Discontinuance, $2,500, affiliate).
PROTECTED
Item 12 grants a protected territory.
NOT DISCLOSED
Non-compete term/radius wasn't separately quantified in the filing excerpt we have on file.

Openings, closures & reacquisitions

The numbers ranking sites don't show — straight from the brand's filings

OpenedClosed / terminated / not renewedReacquired
9413402023921080202410614402025

Tell me when Anytime Fitness files something new

Franchisors refile every year, and fees, investment ranges and closure counts move between filings. We'll email you when this brand's figures change — nothing else, and never a sales sequence.

Tell me when these brands file something new

Fees change, disclosure documents get refiled, and outlet counts move every year. We'll email you when any of your 1 saved brand changes — Anytime Fitness. This is the only time your shortlist leaves your browser, and no franchisor is told you are watching them.

The Factbook Brief

Fee changes, closure-rate movers, and one honest brand teardown. One email a week. We never sell your address see how we make money.

Common questions

Answered from this brand's own FDD filing. Where the filing is silent, the question is left out rather than answered with a guess.

How much does a Anytime Fitness franchise cost?

Anytime Fitness' most recent Franchise Disclosure Document puts the total estimated initial investment at $539K–$905K. That is Item 7, which covers everything needed to open — the franchise fee, build-out, equipment, opening inventory and initial working capital.

What royalty does Anytime Fitness charge?

Anytime Fitness charges a continuing royalty of 8% of gross sales, disclosed in Item 6. Royalties are charged on revenue, not profit, so they are owed whether or not the outlet is profitable.

Does Anytime Fitness disclose earnings (Item 19)?

No. Anytime Fitness makes no financial performance representation in its FDD. Item 19 is the only optional item under the FTC Franchise Rule, so omitting it is lawful and common — but it means the franchisor publishes no revenue or profit figures for its outlets, and any figure quoted elsewhere is not from the filing.

How many Anytime Fitness locations closed?

In its most recent reported year (2025), Anytime Fitness opened 106, closed 6, terminated 78 franchised outlets, ending the year with 4542. Averaged over three years, 2.8% of the system turned over annually — outlets closed, terminated, not renewed or reacquired. These counts come from Item 20, which every franchisor must file.

Does Anytime Fitness give a protected territory?

Anytime Fitness' FDD describes a protected territory in Item 12. Protection varies in what it actually excludes — franchisors commonly reserve online sales and alternative channels inside it — so the wording in the filing matters more than the yes.

Facts on this page are sourced from Anytime Fitness' Franchise Disclosure Document.

Royalty is a flat monthly fee per center ($699/mo for 1-9 centers, $649/mo for 10+, $449/mo for Express), not a percentage of gross sales, so item6_royalty_pct left null; monthly Marketing Fund is $600 (standard)/$300 (Express) and Technology Fee ranges $549-$799/mo -- also fee-based rather than clean percentages, so left out of the pct/tech_fee numeric fields to avoid mischaracterizing a flat-dollar fee as a percentage. Item 17 and Item 20 details were not present in the fetched excerpt though the source PDF is a genuine, complete franchisor-published FDD.