Franchise Factbook
Pet Wants

Pet Wants

Partial FDD data
Pet/Kids Entertainment · Cincinnati, Ohio · Founded 2015 · Franchising since 2015
Limited confidence · 0.60Unclaimed profile
Share fact card ↗
Total to open · Item 7
$148K–$219K
Franchise fee · Item 5
Not disclosed in the filing on record
Owner turnover
1.6%/yr
3-yr average from Item 20 — lower is better
Factbook Score
Solid
computed, never sold
✓ No bankruptcy disclosures✓ No litigation disclosed✓ Shares earnings data · Item 19Why these flags?

Beyond the filing

Everything else on this page is quoted from Pet Wants's franchise disclosure document. This is not — it is measured off the open web, it is not verified by the franchisor, and it never affects the Factbook Score.

Customer rating
4.9 / 5
1,777 Google reviews across 20 locations
Website health
9 / 10
Basic checks. Issues here: no structured data
Store locator
Yes
Their site has a finder that sends customers to their nearest branch — how walk-in trade reaches a franchisee
iPhone app
4.2 / 5
5 App Store ratings · Pet Wants
Android app
None found
No Play Store link on their site — an app they don't link from their homepage would read the same way
Google returns at most twenty locations for a search, so the rating is a sample of Pet Wants's outlets rather than all of them. Measured Sep 11, 2026.

Research this brand properly

Every figure on this page comes from Pet Wants's own disclosure filings, source linked. Compare it against its category before any discovery call — and read the FDD with an attorney before signing anything.

Visit brand websiteCompare with similar brandsHave this FDD read for you

Get introduced to Pet Wants

We pass your details to their franchise development team so they can contact you directly. We are not a broker, we are not paid per introduction, and your details are never sold to a lead network.

Where you'd want to open — territory availability is the first thing they'll check.

We record the time and IP of the request — privacy policy.

Claim Pet Wants

For people who work for the brand. Once approved you can correct anything we have wrong and respond on this profile. Claiming is free and never affects the Factbook Score, the ranking, or which facts we publish.

A company address at the brand's own domain is approved fastest. A personal address is fine, but we'll ask you to verify another way.

Reviewed by a person. We record the time and IP — privacy policy.
No spam, and we never sell your details — an introduction happens only when you ask for one, to the brand you named. How we make money · Own this brand?
Shareable fact card
Franchise Factbook · verified
Opening a Pet Wants: $148K–$219K
From its official FDD · franchisefactbook.com
Download PNG

Pasted links unfurl as this card automatically on X, LinkedIn and WhatsApp.

Data-integrity flags on this profile
  • infook
Figures below were extracted with limited confidence (0.60 of 1.00)

They have not cleared our 0.85 QA bar, usually because no primary regulator-hosted filing was reachable and the figures come from a secondary source. Treat them as indicative and check the linked source before relying on them. We publish the score rather than hiding it — see the methodology.

Royalty
7%
+ 2% brand fund
Franchised units
316
As of 2025
3-yr unit growth
+7.2%/yr
CAGR from Item 20

What it really costs

Every cost figure this brand's filing discloses — not just the headline range

Total initial investment · Item 7$148K–$219K
$0$250K
ExpenseLowHigh
Initial franchise fee
Total initial investment$148,150$219,000

Item 7 reports a total range, not a full line-item breakdown, in this brand's filing excerpt — the franchise fee is the only cost we can show separately today.

Costs more to open than 34% of pet care franchises on this site with a disclosed Item 7 range (40 compared). Computed from total investment, not a figure from the filing itself.

Earnings disclosure

Does the franchisor share performance data? Yes

Average revenue$438,585
Median revenue$436,723
Sample size38

Legal history

CLEAR
No bankruptcy disclosures for the franchisor or its officers.
CLEAR
frandb.com states 'No litigation involving franchisees reported' for the current FDD.
NOT DISCLOSED
Non-compete term/radius wasn't separately quantified in the filing excerpt we have on file.

Openings, closures & reacquisitions

The numbers ranking sites don't show — straight from the brand's filings

OpenedClosed / terminated / not renewedReacquired
4803220234822020242812182025

Tell me when Pet Wants files something new

Franchisors refile every year, and fees, investment ranges and closure counts move between filings. We'll email you when this brand's figures change — nothing else, and never a sales sequence.

Tell me when these brands file something new

Fees change, disclosure documents get refiled, and outlet counts move every year. We'll email you when any of your 1 saved brand changes — Pet Wants. This is the only time your shortlist leaves your browser, and no franchisor is told you are watching them.

The Factbook Brief

Fee changes, closure-rate movers, and one honest brand teardown. One email a week. We never sell your address see how we make money.

Common questions

Answered from this brand's own FDD filing. Where the filing is silent, the question is left out rather than answered with a guess.

How much does a Pet Wants franchise cost?

Pet Wants' most recent Franchise Disclosure Document puts the total estimated initial investment at $148K–$219K. That is Item 7, which covers everything needed to open — the franchise fee, build-out, equipment, opening inventory and initial working capital.

What royalty does Pet Wants charge?

Pet Wants charges a continuing royalty of 7% of gross sales, disclosed in Item 6. A separate brand or advertising fund contribution of 2% applies on top. Royalties are charged on revenue, not profit, so they are owed whether or not the outlet is profitable.

Does Pet Wants disclose earnings (Item 19)?

Yes. Pet Wants makes a financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. The filing reports average annual gross revenue of $438,585 and a median of $436,723. That figure covers 38 outlets. Item 19 is optional under the FTC Franchise Rule, and gross revenue is not profit — it is stated before royalties, rent, staff and every other cost.

How many Pet Wants locations closed?

In its most recent reported year (2025), Pet Wants opened 28, closed 12, terminated 0 franchised outlets, ending the year with 316. Averaged over three years, 1.6% of the system turned over annually — outlets closed, terminated, not renewed or reacquired. These counts come from Item 20, which every franchisor must file.

Facts on this page are sourced from a third-party archive's copy of Pet Wants' Franchise Disclosure Document, not filed with us directly — treat figures here as one step further from the original filing.

System size shown contracting sharply: 536 locations (2023) to 377 (2024) to 159 as of 2025 per frandb.com -- notable red flag worth independent verification against the primary FDD. Item 19 sample is described as 38 franchisees open the full 2024 year, reporting average $438,585 / median $436,723 gross revenue (top quartile $729,270, bottom quartile $168,173); no profit/EBITDA figure given, so item19_profit_disclosed=false. Item 5 fee shown here ($48,500, 'store' format) is the frandb/vettedbiz-cited current figure; an older franchimp.com 2020 FDD preview showed a two-tier $38,500 (mobile) / $48,500 (store) structure that may no longer be current. Item 12/17 not found within budget.