Franchise Factbook
Mr. Handyman

Mr. Handyman

Partial FDD data
home services · Ann Arbor, MI · Founded 2000 · Franchising since 2000
Extraction not scoredUnclaimed profile
Share fact card ↗
Total to open · Item 7
$162K–$215K
Franchise fee · Item 5
Not disclosed in the filing on record
Owner turnover
2.4%/yr
3-yr average from Item 20 — lower is better
Factbook Score
Solid
computed, never sold
✓ No bankruptcy disclosures1 litigation disclosure · Item 3No Item 19 earnings dataPre-confidence-scoring extractionWhy these flags?

Beyond the filing

Everything else on this page is quoted from Mr. Handyman's franchise disclosure document. This is not — it is measured off the open web, it is not verified by the franchisor, and it never affects the Factbook Score.

Customer rating
4.8 / 5
10,681 Google reviews across 16 locations
Best to worst location
4.6 – 4.9
Where this brand's locations sit on the same scale — the gap is what varies between franchisees
Website health
10 / 10
Basic checks: HTTPS, mobile viewport, speed, metadata. Most sites clear them
Store locator
Yes
Their site has a finder that sends customers to their nearest branch — how walk-in trade reaches a franchisee
iPhone app
None found
No App Store listing matched this brand
Android app
Yes
Play Store link published on their own site. Google offers no free ratings API, so there is no score to show
Google returns at most twenty locations for a search, so the rating is a sample of Mr. Handyman's outlets rather than all of them. Measured Sep 11, 2026.

Research this brand properly

Every figure on this page comes from Mr. Handyman's own disclosure filings, source linked. Compare it against its category before any discovery call — and read the FDD with an attorney before signing anything.

Visit brand websiteCompare with similar brandsHave this FDD read for you

Get introduced to Mr. Handyman

We pass your details to their franchise development team so they can contact you directly. We are not a broker, we are not paid per introduction, and your details are never sold to a lead network.

Where you'd want to open — territory availability is the first thing they'll check.

We record the time and IP of the request — privacy policy.

Claim Mr. Handyman

For people who work for the brand. Once approved you can correct anything we have wrong and respond on this profile. Claiming is free and never affects the Factbook Score, the ranking, or which facts we publish.

A company address at the brand's own domain is approved fastest. A personal address is fine, but we'll ask you to verify another way.

Reviewed by a person. We record the time and IP — privacy policy.
No spam, and we never sell your details — an introduction happens only when you ask for one, to the brand you named. How we make money · Own this brand?
Shareable fact card
Franchise Factbook · verified
Opening a Mr. Handyman: $162K–$215K
From its official FDD · franchisefactbook.com
Download PNG

Pasted links unfurl as this card automatically on X, LinkedIn and WhatsApp.

Data-integrity flags on this profile
  • warnUnderlying filing appears to be from 2014 (12 years old) — fees and investment ranges may have changed materially since; treat as historical until refreshed against a current filing.
  • infook
These figures predate our extraction-confidence scoring

They were captured before we began scoring extraction confidence, so we can't put a number on them. They remain sourced — the filing is linked below. We publish the score rather than hiding it — see the methodology.

Royalty
7%
+ 1% brand fund
Franchised units
714
As of 2025
3-yr unit growth
+10.6%/yr
CAGR from Item 20

What it really costs

Every cost figure this brand's filing discloses — not just the headline range

Total initial investment · Item 7$162K–$215K
$0$250K
ExpenseLowHigh
Initial franchise fee
Total initial investment$161,900$215,000

Item 7 reports a total range, not a full line-item breakdown, in this brand's filing excerpt — the franchise fee is the only cost we can show separately today.

Costs more to open than 66% of home services franchises on this site with a disclosed Item 7 range (202 compared). Computed from total investment, not a figure from the filing itself.

Earnings disclosure

Does the franchisor share performance data? No

This brand's filing does not include an Item 19 financial performance representation. That's common — a large share of franchisors disclose nothing here — but it means you should ask for unit-level economics directly during discovery calls. Compare against home services brands that do disclose one.

Legal history

CLEAR
No bankruptcy disclosures for the franchisor or its officers.
1 CASE
Mr. Handyman of Toronto West, Inc. and Ian Hird v. Mr. Handyman of Canada Company (Ontario Superior Court, filed Dec 4, 2013), alleging violations of Ontario's Arthur Wishart Act re: franchise agreement rescission.
PROTECTED
Item 12 grants a protected territory.
NOTED
Non-compete: 2 year(s) / ? mile(s) after leaving the system.

Openings, closures & reacquisitions

The numbers ranking sites don't show — straight from the brand's filings

OpenedClosed / terminated / not renewedReacquired
511102023541202024442402025

Tell me when Mr. Handyman files something new

Franchisors refile every year, and fees, investment ranges and closure counts move between filings. We'll email you when this brand's figures change — nothing else, and never a sales sequence.

Tell me when these brands file something new

Fees change, disclosure documents get refiled, and outlet counts move every year. We'll email you when any of your 1 saved brand changes — Mr. Handyman. This is the only time your shortlist leaves your browser, and no franchisor is told you are watching them.

The Factbook Brief

Fee changes, closure-rate movers, and one honest brand teardown. One email a week. We never sell your address see how we make money.

Common questions

Answered from this brand's own FDD filing. Where the filing is silent, the question is left out rather than answered with a guess.

How much does a Mr. Handyman franchise cost?

Mr. Handyman's most recent Franchise Disclosure Document puts the total estimated initial investment at $162K–$215K. That is Item 7, which covers everything needed to open — the franchise fee, build-out, equipment, opening inventory and initial working capital.

What royalty does Mr. Handyman charge?

Mr. Handyman charges a continuing royalty of 7% of gross sales, disclosed in Item 6. A separate brand or advertising fund contribution of 1% applies on top. Royalties are charged on revenue, not profit, so they are owed whether or not the outlet is profitable.

Does Mr. Handyman disclose earnings (Item 19)?

No. Mr. Handyman makes no financial performance representation in its FDD. Item 19 is the only optional item under the FTC Franchise Rule, so omitting it is lawful and common — but it means the franchisor publishes no revenue or profit figures for its outlets, and any figure quoted elsewhere is not from the filing.

How many Mr. Handyman locations closed?

In its most recent reported year (2025), Mr. Handyman opened 44, closed 2, terminated 22 franchised outlets, ending the year with 714. Averaged over three years, 2.4% of the system turned over annually — outlets closed, terminated, not renewed or reacquired. These counts come from Item 20, which every franchisor must file.

Does Mr. Handyman give a protected territory?

Mr. Handyman's FDD describes a protected territory in Item 12. Protection varies in what it actually excludes — franchisors commonly reserve online sales and alternative channels inside it — so the wording in the filing matters more than the yes.

Facts on this page are sourced from Mr. Handyman's Franchise Disclosure Document.

Item 5 also includes a separate $9,500 initial package fee and $30,000 territory fee (not counted in item5_initial_fee, which reflects only the base initial licensing fee); a $6,000 VetFran discount is available. Item 6 royalty is 7% of gross sales less materials cost, plus 3.5% on material revenue; advertising fund is 1.25% of gross sales; local marketing minimum $3,000/month separately required. Item 12 grants an exclusive territory of ~55,000 target households. Item 17 non-compete runs 2 years post-termination/expiration; exact mileage radius was not stated in the fetched excerpt (restricted to the 'Territory' and 'substantially the same business'). Item 20 outlet table was not present in the fetched excerpt. Source document is dated 2014 -- treat fee and outlet figures as historical, not current.