Franchise Factbook
The Grounds Guys

The Grounds Guys

Partial FDD data
Pest Control/Lawn Care · Waco, TX · Founded 1987 · Franchising since 2010
Low confidence · 0.40Unclaimed profile
Share fact card ↗
Total to open · Item 7
$108K–$253K
Franchise fee · Item 5
$43,750
Included in the total above
Owner turnover
11.7%/yr
3-yr average from Item 20 — lower is better
Factbook Score
Mixed
computed, never sold
✓ Shares earnings data · Item 19Why these flags?

Beyond the filing

Everything else on this page is quoted from The Grounds Guys's franchise disclosure document. This is not — it is measured off the open web, it is not verified by the franchisor, and it never affects the Factbook Score.

Customer rating
2.6 / 5
5 Google reviews across 1 location
Website health
9 / 10
Basic checks. Issues here: no structured data
Google returns at most twenty locations for a search, so the rating is a sample of The Grounds Guys's outlets rather than all of them, and this one is small enough that it should be read as a single franchisee's reviews rather than the system's. The site on file for The Grounds Guys is its franchise-recruitment site rather than its consumer site, so locator and app checks would say nothing about the brand and are not shown. Measured Sep 11, 2026.

Seen advertising or featured on: Neighborly franchise platform. Noted for provenance — paid placement elsewhere has no bearing on anything shown here.

Research this brand properly

Every figure on this page comes from The Grounds Guys's own disclosure filings, source linked. Compare it against its category before any discovery call — and read the FDD with an attorney before signing anything.

Visit brand websiteCompare with similar brandsHave this FDD read for you

Get introduced to The Grounds Guys

We pass your details to their franchise development team so they can contact you directly. We are not a broker, we are not paid per introduction, and your details are never sold to a lead network.

Where you'd want to open — territory availability is the first thing they'll check.

We record the time and IP of the request — privacy policy.

Claim The Grounds Guys

For people who work for the brand. Once approved you can correct anything we have wrong and respond on this profile. Claiming is free and never affects the Factbook Score, the ranking, or which facts we publish.

A company address at the brand's own domain is approved fastest. A personal address is fine, but we'll ask you to verify another way.

Reviewed by a person. We record the time and IP — privacy policy.
No spam, and we never sell your details — an introduction happens only when you ask for one, to the brand you named. How we make money · Own this brand?
Shareable fact card
Franchise Factbook · verified
Opening The Grounds Guys: $108K–$253K
From its official FDD · franchisefactbook.com
Download PNG

Pasted links unfurl as this card automatically on X, LinkedIn and WhatsApp.

Data-integrity flags on this profile
  • infook
Figures below were extracted with low confidence (0.40 of 1.00)

They have not cleared our 0.85 QA bar, usually because no primary regulator-hosted filing was reachable and the figures come from a secondary source. Treat them as indicative and check the linked source before relying on them. We publish the score rather than hiding it — see the methodology.

Royalty
5% - 6% of gross sales (range, not a single clean figure)
Franchised units
438
As of 2025
3-yr unit growth
+1.9%/yr
CAGR from Item 20

What it really costs

Every cost figure this brand's filing discloses — not just the headline range

Total initial investment · Item 7$108K–$253K
$0$500K
ExpenseLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$43,750$43,750
Total initial investment$107,650$252,850

Item 7 reports a total range, not a full line-item breakdown, in this brand's filing excerpt — the franchise fee is the only cost we can show separately today.

Costs more to open than 32% of home services franchises on this site with a disclosed Item 7 range (203 compared). Computed from total investment, not a figure from the filing itself.

Earnings disclosure

Does the franchisor share performance data? Yes

Average revenue$430,000
Median revenue
Sample size

Legal history

CLEAR
No bankruptcy disclosures for the franchisor or its officers.
PROTECTED
Item 12 grants a protected territory.
NOT DISCLOSED
Non-compete term/radius wasn't separately quantified in the filing excerpt we have on file.

Openings, closures & reacquisitions

The numbers ranking sites don't show — straight from the brand's filings

OpenedClosed / terminated / not renewedReacquired
865602023625602024244302025

Tell me when The Grounds Guys files something new

Franchisors refile every year, and fees, investment ranges and closure counts move between filings. We'll email you when this brand's figures change — nothing else, and never a sales sequence.

Tell me when these brands file something new

Fees change, disclosure documents get refiled, and outlet counts move every year. We'll email you when any of your 1 saved brand changes — The Grounds Guys. This is the only time your shortlist leaves your browser, and no franchisor is told you are watching them.

The Factbook Brief

Fee changes, closure-rate movers, and one honest brand teardown. One email a week. We never sell your address see how we make money.

Common questions

Answered from this brand's own FDD filing. Where the filing is silent, the question is left out rather than answered with a guess.

How much does a The Grounds Guys franchise cost?

The Grounds Guys' most recent Franchise Disclosure Document puts the total estimated initial investment at $108K–$253K. That is Item 7, which covers everything needed to open — the franchise fee, build-out, equipment, opening inventory and initial working capital. The initial franchise fee itself is $43,750, and is included in that range.

What royalty does The Grounds Guys charge?

The Grounds Guys charges a continuing royalty of 5% - 6% of gross sales (range, not a single clean figure), disclosed in Item 6. Royalties are charged on revenue, not profit, so they are owed whether or not the outlet is profitable.

Does The Grounds Guys disclose earnings (Item 19)?

Yes. The Grounds Guys makes a financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. The filing reports average annual gross revenue of $430,000. Item 19 is optional under the FTC Franchise Rule, and gross revenue is not profit — it is stated before royalties, rent, staff and every other cost.

How many The Grounds Guys locations closed?

In its most recent reported year (2025), The Grounds Guys opened 24, closed 4, terminated 37 franchised outlets, ending the year with 438. Averaged over three years, 11.7% of the system turned over annually — outlets closed, terminated, not renewed or reacquired. These counts come from Item 20, which every franchisor must file.

Does The Grounds Guys give a protected territory?

The Grounds Guys' FDD describes a protected territory in Item 12. Protection varies in what it actually excludes — franchisors commonly reserve online sales and alternative channels inside it — so the wording in the filing matters more than the yes.

Facts on this page are drawn from The Grounds Guys' own marketing materials, not yet from a Franchise Disclosure Document — treat them as unverified until we source the filing.

Item 5/7 figures ($43,750 initial fee plus $350/1,000 additional population; $107,650-$252,850 total investment) are sourced directly from the franchisor's own Neighborly page referencing the '2026 FDD.' Two third-party aggregators (franchisedirect.com, franchisepayback.com) instead show a lower, likely older-FDD-year figure of $35,000 initial fee and $75,000-$225,000 total investment -- these are noted here rather than used, since the franchisor's own current-year reference is treated as more authoritative. Item 6 sources conflict on the marketing/brand fund component: franchisedirect.com cites a 2% marketing/advertising fee, while franchisepayback.com cites a 5% 'national brand fund fee' -- left null rather than guessing. Item 12: franchisor agrees not to place another company-owned or franchised Grounds Guys location in the territory while the franchisee is compliant, but reserves rights to service certain competing/key accounts, so protection is limited/non-exclusive. Item 19 Average Unit Volume is $430,000; franchisor does not disclose profit. Item 20 outlet count/table was not recoverable from any accessible source in two attempts.