Franchise Factbook
Cold Stone Creamery

Cold Stone Creamery

Partial FDD data
Desserts · Scottsdale, Arizona · Founded 1988 · Franchising since 1995
Limited confidence · 0.50Unclaimed profile
Share fact card ↗
Total to open · Item 7
$336K–$655K
Franchise fee · Item 5
Structured
Conflicting figures: franchisechatter.com (2025 review, presumably current FDD)
Owner turnover
Awaiting Item 20 extraction
Factbook Score
Pending
Only 2 year(s) of Item 20 outlet history on file
✓ Shares earnings data · Item 19Why these flags?

Beyond the filing

Everything else on this page is quoted from Cold Stone Creamery's franchise disclosure document. This is not — it is measured off the open web, it is not verified by the franchisor, and it never affects the Factbook Score.

Customer rating
4.1 / 5
4,833 Google reviews across 20 locations
Best to worst location
3.1 – 4.6
Where this brand's locations sit on the same scale — the gap is what varies between franchisees
Website health
9 / 10
Basic checks. Issues here: no structured data
Store locator
No
No finder on their site, so customers can't look up a nearby branch from it
iPhone app
4.7 / 5
23,298 App Store ratings · Cold Stone
Android app
None found
No Play Store link on their site — an app they don't link from their homepage would read the same way
Google returns at most twenty locations for a search, so the rating is a sample of Cold Stone Creamery's outlets rather than all of them. Measured Sep 11, 2026.

Research this brand properly

Every figure on this page comes from Cold Stone Creamery's own disclosure filings, source linked. Compare it against its category before any discovery call — and read the FDD with an attorney before signing anything.

Visit brand websiteCompare with similar brandsHave this FDD read for you

Get introduced to Cold Stone Creamery

We pass your details to their franchise development team so they can contact you directly. We are not a broker, we are not paid per introduction, and your details are never sold to a lead network.

Where you'd want to open — territory availability is the first thing they'll check.

We record the time and IP of the request — privacy policy.

Claim Cold Stone Creamery

For people who work for the brand. Once approved you can correct anything we have wrong and respond on this profile. Claiming is free and never affects the Factbook Score, the ranking, or which facts we publish.

A company address at the brand's own domain is approved fastest. A personal address is fine, but we'll ask you to verify another way.

Reviewed by a person. We record the time and IP — privacy policy.
No spam, and we never sell your details — an introduction happens only when you ask for one, to the brand you named. How we make money · Own this brand?
Shareable fact card
Franchise Factbook · verified
Opening a Cold Stone Creamery: $336K–$655K
From its official FDD · franchisefactbook.com
Download PNG

Pasted links unfurl as this card automatically on X, LinkedIn and WhatsApp.

Data-integrity flags on this profile
  • infook
Figures below were extracted with limited confidence (0.50 of 1.00)

They have not cleared our 0.85 QA bar, usually because no primary regulator-hosted filing was reachable and the figures come from a secondary source. Treat them as indicative and check the linked source before relying on them. We publish the score rather than hiding it — see the methodology.

Royalty
6%
+ 3% brand fund
Franchised units
994
As of 2024
3-yr unit growth
CAGR from Item 20

What it really costs

Every cost figure this brand's filing discloses — not just the headline range

Total initial investment · Item 7$336K–$655K
$0$1.0M
ExpenseLowHigh
Initial franchise fee
Total initial investment$335,675$655,275

Item 7 reports a total range, not a full line-item breakdown, in this brand's filing excerpt — the franchise fee is the only cost we can show separately today.

Costs more to open than 42% of food and beverage franchises on this site with a disclosed Item 7 range (372 compared). Computed from total investment, not a figure from the filing itself.

Earnings disclosure

Does the franchisor share performance data? Yes

Average revenue$621,052
Median revenue$587,242
Sample size939

Legal history

CLEAR
No bankruptcy disclosures for the franchisor or its officers.
NOT DISCLOSED
Non-compete term/radius wasn't separately quantified in the filing excerpt we have on file.

Openings, closures & reacquisitions

The numbers ranking sites don't show — straight from the brand's filings

OpenedClosed / terminated / not renewedReacquired
00020220002024

Tell me when Cold Stone Creamery files something new

Franchisors refile every year, and fees, investment ranges and closure counts move between filings. We'll email you when this brand's figures change — nothing else, and never a sales sequence.

Tell me when these brands file something new

Fees change, disclosure documents get refiled, and outlet counts move every year. We'll email you when any of your 1 saved brand changes — Cold Stone Creamery. This is the only time your shortlist leaves your browser, and no franchisor is told you are watching them.

The Factbook Brief

Fee changes, closure-rate movers, and one honest brand teardown. One email a week. We never sell your address see how we make money.

Common questions

Answered from this brand's own FDD filing. Where the filing is silent, the question is left out rather than answered with a guess.

How much does a Cold Stone Creamery franchise cost?

Cold Stone Creamery's most recent Franchise Disclosure Document puts the total estimated initial investment at $336K–$655K. That is Item 7, which covers everything needed to open — the franchise fee, build-out, equipment, opening inventory and initial working capital. The initial franchise fee is not a single figure: Conflicting figures: franchisechatter.com (2025 review, presumably current FDD) cites $12,000-$27,000 (traditional) / $8,000-$20,000 (non-traditional); a franchisepanda.com preview of the 2023 FDD cites $27,500-$59,500 (traditional) / $18,500-$47,500 (non-traditional). Not resolved to one number -- see notes.

What royalty does Cold Stone Creamery charge?

Cold Stone Creamery charges a continuing royalty of 6% of gross sales, disclosed in Item 6. A separate brand or advertising fund contribution of 3% applies on top. Royalties are charged on revenue, not profit, so they are owed whether or not the outlet is profitable.

Does Cold Stone Creamery disclose earnings (Item 19)?

Yes. Cold Stone Creamery makes a financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. The filing reports average annual gross revenue of $621,052 and a median of $587,242. That figure covers 939 outlets. Item 19 is optional under the FTC Franchise Rule, and gross revenue is not profit — it is stated before royalties, rent, staff and every other cost.

Facts on this page are sourced from a third-party archive's copy of Cold Stone Creamery's Franchise Disclosure Document, not filed with us directly — treat figures here as one step further from the original filing.

Item 5 fee figures conflict between the two sources fetched (see above); used franchisechatter's Item 7 total investment range ($335,675-$655,275, traditional) as the more current figure over franchisepanda's older-looking $310,375-$602,775. Item 19 (FY2024): 939 existing franchised U.S. locations sampled; average gross sales $621,052, median $587,242; top 20% averaged $992,237, bottom 20% averaged $342,089; profit/net income not disclosed. Item 20: franchised locations grew from 889 (2022) to 992 (2024); company-owned fell from 5 to 2 over the same period -- combined into outlets_end totals of 894 (2022) and 994 (2024) since a full opened/closed/transferred breakdown was not in the excerpt. Items 3, 4, 12, and 17 could not be located in either source.