Franchise Factbook
Bojangles

Bojangles

Partial FDD data
QSR
Moderate confidence · 0.80Unclaimed profile
Share fact card ↗
Total to open · Item 7
$2.6M–$3.8M
Franchise fee, build-out, equipment and working capital
Franchise fee · Item 5
$35,000
Included in the total above
Owner turnover
Awaiting Item 20 extraction
Factbook Score
Pending
Only 1 year(s) of Item 20 outlet history on file
✓ No bankruptcy disclosures4 litigation disclosures · Item 3No Item 19 earnings dataWhy these flags?

Beyond the filing

Everything else on this page is quoted from Bojangles's franchise disclosure document. This is not — it is measured off the open web, it is not verified by the franchisor, and it never affects the Factbook Score.

Customer rating
3.9 / 5
29,974 Google reviews across 20 locations
Best to worst location
3.3 – 4.1
Where this brand's locations sit on the same scale — the gap is what varies between franchisees
Website health
5 / 10
Basic checks. Issues here: redirects before it loads, no mobile viewport
Store locator
Not detected
The site renders its navigation in JavaScript, so we can't tell
iPhone app
4.7 / 5
53,323 App Store ratings · Bojangles Restaurant
Android app
None found
No Play Store link on their site — an app they don't link from their homepage would read the same way
Google returns at most twenty locations for a search, so the rating is a sample of Bojangles's outlets rather than all of them. Measured Sep 11, 2026.

Research this brand properly

Every figure on this page comes from Bojangles's own disclosure filings, source linked. Compare it against its category before any discovery call — and read the FDD with an attorney before signing anything.

Visit brand websiteCompare with similar brandsHave this FDD read for you

Get introduced to Bojangles

We pass your details to their franchise development team so they can contact you directly. We are not a broker, we are not paid per introduction, and your details are never sold to a lead network.

Where you'd want to open — territory availability is the first thing they'll check.

We record the time and IP of the request — privacy policy.

Claim Bojangles

For people who work for the brand. Once approved you can correct anything we have wrong and respond on this profile. Claiming is free and never affects the Factbook Score, the ranking, or which facts we publish.

A company address at the brand's own domain is approved fastest. A personal address is fine, but we'll ask you to verify another way.

Reviewed by a person. We record the time and IP — privacy policy.
No spam, and we never sell your details — an introduction happens only when you ask for one, to the brand you named. How we make money · Own this brand?
Shareable fact card
Franchise Factbook · verified
Opening a Bojangles: $2.6M–$3.8M
From its official FDD · franchisefactbook.com
Download PNG

Pasted links unfurl as this card automatically on X, LinkedIn and WhatsApp.

Data-integrity flags on this profile
  • infook
Figures below were extracted with limited confidence (0.80 of 1.00)

They have not cleared our 0.85 QA bar, usually because no primary regulator-hosted filing was reachable and the figures come from a secondary source. Treat them as indicative and check the linked source before relying on them. We publish the score rather than hiding it — see the methodology.

Royalty
4%
+ 1% brand fund
Franchised units
813
As of 2023
3-yr unit growth
CAGR from Item 20

What it really costs

Every cost figure this brand's filing discloses — not just the headline range

Total initial investment · Item 7$2.6M–$3.8M
$0$5.0M
ExpenseLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$35,000$35,000
Total initial investment$2,600,320$3,779,700

Item 7 reports a total range, not a full line-item breakdown, in this brand's filing excerpt — the franchise fee is the only cost we can show separately today.

One of the most expensive to open among food and beverage franchises on this site with a disclosed Item 7 range (372 compared). Computed from total investment, not a figure from the filing itself.

Earnings disclosure

Does the franchisor share performance data? No

This brand's filing does not include an Item 19 financial performance representation. That's common — a large share of franchisors disclose nothing here — but it means you should ask for unit-level economics directly during discovery calls. Compare against food and beverage brands that do disclose one.

Legal history

CLEAR
No bankruptcy disclosures for the franchisor or its officers.
4 CASES
2 pending matters disclosed (Bojangles' of America Franchisee Association v. Bojangles Opco re: audit access; Bojangles Opco v. Franchisee Association re: confidentiality agreement violation) and 2 concluded matters (settled/dismissed).
PROTECTED
Item 12 grants a protected territory.
NOT DISCLOSED
Non-compete term/radius wasn't separately quantified in the filing excerpt we have on file.

Openings, closures & reacquisitions

The numbers ranking sites don't show — straight from the brand's filings

OpenedClosed / terminated / not renewedReacquired
0002023

Tell me when Bojangles files something new

Franchisors refile every year, and fees, investment ranges and closure counts move between filings. We'll email you when this brand's figures change — nothing else, and never a sales sequence.

Tell me when these brands file something new

Fees change, disclosure documents get refiled, and outlet counts move every year. We'll email you when any of your 1 saved brand changes — Bojangles. This is the only time your shortlist leaves your browser, and no franchisor is told you are watching them.

The Factbook Brief

Fee changes, closure-rate movers, and one honest brand teardown. One email a week. We never sell your address see how we make money.

Common questions

Answered from this brand's own FDD filing. Where the filing is silent, the question is left out rather than answered with a guess.

How much does a Bojangles franchise cost?

Bojangles' most recent Franchise Disclosure Document puts the total estimated initial investment at $2.6M–$3.8M. That is Item 7, which covers everything needed to open — the franchise fee, build-out, equipment, opening inventory and initial working capital. The initial franchise fee itself is $35,000, and is included in that range.

What royalty does Bojangles charge?

Bojangles charges a continuing royalty of 4% of gross sales, disclosed in Item 6. A separate brand or advertising fund contribution of 1% applies on top. Royalties are charged on revenue, not profit, so they are owed whether or not the outlet is profitable.

Does Bojangles give a protected territory?

Bojangles' FDD describes a protected territory in Item 12. Protection varies in what it actually excludes — franchisors commonly reserve online sales and alternative channels inside it — so the wording in the filing matters more than the yes.

Facts on this page are sourced from Bojangles' Franchise Disclosure Document.

QA CORRECTION (M1 human QA pass): item7_total_low/high originally mixed the low end of the Bojangles Express format ($720,220) with the high end of the Traditional Restaurant format ($3,779,700) into one span -- an independent re-fetch of the same primary FDD confirmed these are two non-overlapping investment tiers, and combining their extremes produced a range that matches neither real format. Corrected to show the Traditional Restaurant range ($2,600,320-$3,779,700), the more common/flagship format; the Express format ($720,220-$1,817,200, lower-investment express/kiosk concept) is noted here rather than merged into the primary fields. Item 5: $35,000 for a Traditional Restaurant, $20,000 for a Bojangles Express Restaurant; a $10,000 per-restaurant development fee is credited against the franchise fee. Item 12: franchisees under a Development Agreement are allocated an 'Assigned Area' based on street/political boundaries and demographic factors. Item 19: the fetched FDD excerpt only showed the boilerplate Item 19 caption ('may give you information about outlet sales, costs, profits or losses') without the actual data table; a secondary source separately cites an AUV of ~$2,090,000 while also stating Bojangles does not disclose AUV in its FDD -- this contradiction means the figure could not be confidently attributed to Item 19, so it was left null. Item 20 outlets_end of 813 (528 franchised + 285 company-operated) is as of December 31, 2023 per the primary FDD; no full opens/closed/terminated breakdown was captured. Item 17 non-compete term/radius not found in the fetched excerpt after 2 attempts.