Franchise Factbook
Better Homes and Gardens logo

Better Homes and Gardens

Partial FDD data
real estate
Moderate confidence · 0.70Unclaimed profile
Share fact card ↗
Total to open · Item 7
Not disclosed in the filing on record
Franchise fee · Item 5
Not disclosed in the filing on record
Owner turnover
11.6%/yr
3-yr average from Item 20 — lower is better
Factbook Score
Weak
computed, never sold
✓ No bankruptcy disclosures✓ No litigation disclosedNo Item 19 earnings dataWhy these flags?

Beyond the filing

Everything else on this page is quoted from Better Homes and Gardens's franchise disclosure document. This is not — it is measured off the open web, it is not verified by the franchisor, and it never affects the Factbook Score.

Customer rating
4.7 / 5
38 Google reviews across 3 locations
Best to worst location
4.3 – 4.8
Where this brand's locations sit on the same scale — the gap is what varies between franchisees
Google returns at most twenty locations for a search, so the rating is a sample of Better Homes and Gardens's outlets rather than all of them, and this one is small enough that it should be read as a single franchisee's reviews rather than the system's. The App Store lookup for Better Homes and Gardens was inconclusive, so no iPhone result is shown either way. Measured Sep 11, 2026.

Research this brand properly

Every figure on this page comes from Better Homes and Gardens's own disclosure filings, source linked. Compare it against its category before any discovery call — and read the FDD with an attorney before signing anything.

Compare with similar brandsHave this FDD read for you

Get introduced to Better Homes and Gardens

We pass your details to their franchise development team so they can contact you directly. We are not a broker, we are not paid per introduction, and your details are never sold to a lead network.

Where you'd want to open — territory availability is the first thing they'll check.

We record the time and IP of the request — privacy policy.

Claim Better Homes and Gardens

For people who work for the brand. Once approved you can correct anything we have wrong and respond on this profile. Claiming is free and never affects the Factbook Score, the ranking, or which facts we publish.

A company address at the brand's own domain is approved fastest. A personal address is fine, but we'll ask you to verify another way.

Reviewed by a person. We record the time and IP — privacy policy.
No spam, and we never sell your details — an introduction happens only when you ask for one, to the brand you named. How we make money · Own this brand?
Shareable fact card
Franchise Factbook · verified
Better Homes and Gardens — facts from its official FDD
From its official FDD · franchisefactbook.com
Download PNG

Pasted links unfurl as this card automatically on X, LinkedIn and WhatsApp.

Better Homes and Gardens Real Estate Brings Home to Office in New ...

A real estate franchise included in Franchise Factbook's data-driven Top 20 boards. The profile is distinguished here by its repeated or high-ranked appearances across the selected category metrics.

From Better Homes and Gardens's official site, condensed by an independent research pass on August 10, 2026marketing description, not a filed fact. Source.

Better Homes and Gardens Real Estate Brings Home to Office in New ...source

Figures below were extracted with limited confidence (0.70 of 1.00)

They have not cleared our 0.85 QA bar, usually because no primary regulator-hosted filing was reachable and the figures come from a secondary source. Treat them as indicative and check the linked source before relying on them. We publish the score rather than hiding it — see the methodology.

Royalty
5%
Franchised units
724
As of 2025
3-yr unit growth
+-4.4%/yr
CAGR from Item 20

What it really costs

Every cost figure this brand's filing discloses — not just the headline range

ExpenseLowHigh
Initial franchise fee
Total initial investment

Item 7 reports a total range, not a full line-item breakdown, in this brand's filing excerpt — the franchise fee is the only cost we can show separately today.

Earnings disclosure

Does the franchisor share performance data? No

This brand's filing does not include an Item 19 financial performance representation. That's common — a large share of franchisors disclose nothing here — but it means you should ask for unit-level economics directly during discovery calls. Compare against real estate brands that do disclose one.

Legal history

CLEAR
No bankruptcy disclosures for the franchisor or its officers.
CLEAR
No litigation disclosed under Item 3.
NOT DISCLOSED
Non-compete term/radius wasn't separately quantified in the filing excerpt we have on file.

Openings, closures & reacquisitions

The numbers ranking sites don't show — straight from the brand's filings

OpenedClosed / terminated / not renewedReacquired
7458020236013202024708202025

Tell me when Better Homes and Gardens files something new

Franchisors refile every year, and fees, investment ranges and closure counts move between filings. We'll email you when this brand's figures change — nothing else, and never a sales sequence.

Tell me when these brands file something new

Fees change, disclosure documents get refiled, and outlet counts move every year. We'll email you when any of your 1 saved brand changes — Better Homes and Gardens. This is the only time your shortlist leaves your browser, and no franchisor is told you are watching them.

The Factbook Brief

Fee changes, closure-rate movers, and one honest brand teardown. One email a week. We never sell your address see how we make money.

Common questions

Answered from this brand's own FDD filing. Where the filing is silent, the question is left out rather than answered with a guess.

What royalty does Better Homes and Gardens charge?

Better Homes and Gardens charges a continuing royalty of 5% of gross sales, disclosed in Item 6. Royalties are charged on revenue, not profit, so they are owed whether or not the outlet is profitable.

Does Better Homes and Gardens disclose earnings (Item 19)?

No. Better Homes and Gardens makes no financial performance representation in its FDD. Item 19 is the only optional item under the FTC Franchise Rule, so omitting it is lawful and common — but it means the franchisor publishes no revenue or profit figures for its outlets, and any figure quoted elsewhere is not from the filing.

How many Better Homes and Gardens locations closed?

In its most recent reported year (2025), Better Homes and Gardens opened 70, closed 56, terminated 12 franchised outlets, ending the year with 724. Averaged over three years, 11.6% of the system turned over annually — outlets closed, terminated, not renewed or reacquired. These counts come from Item 20, which every franchisor must file.

Facts on this page are sourced from Better Homes and Gardens' Franchise Disclosure Document.