Franchise Factbook
Ace Hardware

Ace Hardware

Partial FDD data
Retail · Oak Brook, IL · Founded 1924 · Franchising since 1976
Extraction not scoredUnclaimed profile
Share fact card ↗
Total to open · Item 7
Not disclosed in the filing on record
Franchise fee · Item 5
Structured
$5,000 processing fee + $5,000 stock subscription fee (per co-op membership appl
Owner turnover
Awaiting Item 20 extraction
Factbook Score
Pending
Brand has 0 year(s) of Item 20 history in our current extraction
✓ Shares earnings data · Item 19Pre-confidence-scoring extractionWhy these flags?

Beyond the filing

Everything else on this page is quoted from Ace Hardware's franchise disclosure document. This is not — it is measured off the open web, it is not verified by the franchisor, and it never affects the Factbook Score.

Customer rating
4.5 / 5
3,107 Google reviews across 10 locations
Best to worst location
4.2 – 4.8
Where this brand's locations sit on the same scale — the gap is what varies between franchisees
Website health
10 / 10
Basic checks: HTTPS, mobile viewport, speed, metadata. Most sites clear them
Store locator
Yes
Their site has a finder that sends customers to their nearest branch — how walk-in trade reaches a franchisee
iPhone app
4.8 / 5
403,057 App Store ratings · Ace Hardware: Home Improvement
Android app
None found
No Play Store link on their site — an app they don't link from their homepage would read the same way
Google returns at most twenty locations for a search, so the rating is a sample of Ace Hardware's outlets rather than all of them. Measured Sep 11, 2026.

Seen advertising or featured on: Entrepreneur top 10, Franchise Direct Top 100 Global top 10. Noted for provenance — paid placement elsewhere has no bearing on anything shown here.

Research this brand properly

Every figure on this page comes from Ace Hardware's own disclosure filings, source linked. Compare it against its category before any discovery call — and read the FDD with an attorney before signing anything.

Visit brand websiteCompare with similar brandsHave this FDD read for you

Get introduced to Ace Hardware

We pass your details to their franchise development team so they can contact you directly. We are not a broker, we are not paid per introduction, and your details are never sold to a lead network.

Where you'd want to open — territory availability is the first thing they'll check.

We record the time and IP of the request — privacy policy.

Claim Ace Hardware

For people who work for the brand. Once approved you can correct anything we have wrong and respond on this profile. Claiming is free and never affects the Factbook Score, the ranking, or which facts we publish.

A company address at the brand's own domain is approved fastest. A personal address is fine, but we'll ask you to verify another way.

Reviewed by a person. We record the time and IP — privacy policy.
No spam, and we never sell your details — an introduction happens only when you ask for one, to the brand you named. How we make money · Own this brand?
Shareable fact card
Franchise Factbook · verified
Ace Hardware — facts from its official FDD
From its official FDD · franchisefactbook.com
Download PNG

Pasted links unfurl as this card automatically on X, LinkedIn and WhatsApp.

Data-integrity flags on this profile
  • warnItem 7 range incomplete
These figures predate our extraction-confidence scoring

They were captured before we began scoring extraction confidence, so we can't put a number on them. They remain sourced — the filing is linked below. We publish the score rather than hiding it — see the methodology.

Royalty
Franchised units
3-yr unit growth
CAGR from Item 20

What it really costs

Every cost figure this brand's filing discloses — not just the headline range

ExpenseLowHigh
Initial franchise fee
Total initial investment

Item 7 reports a total range, not a full line-item breakdown, in this brand's filing excerpt — the franchise fee is the only cost we can show separately today.

Earnings disclosure

Does the franchisor share performance data? Yes

Average revenue
Median revenue
Sample size1100

Legal history

CLEAR
No bankruptcy disclosures for the franchisor or its officers.
NOT DISCLOSED
Non-compete term/radius wasn't separately quantified in the filing excerpt we have on file.

Tell me when Ace Hardware files something new

Franchisors refile every year, and fees, investment ranges and closure counts move between filings. We'll email you when this brand's figures change — nothing else, and never a sales sequence.

Tell me when these brands file something new

Fees change, disclosure documents get refiled, and outlet counts move every year. We'll email you when any of your 1 saved brand changes — Ace Hardware. This is the only time your shortlist leaves your browser, and no franchisor is told you are watching them.

The Factbook Brief

Fee changes, closure-rate movers, and one honest brand teardown. One email a week. We never sell your address see how we make money.

Common questions

Answered from this brand's own FDD filing. Where the filing is silent, the question is left out rather than answered with a guess.

Does Ace Hardware disclose earnings (Item 19)?

Yes. Ace Hardware makes a financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. That figure covers 1100 outlets. Item 19 is optional under the FTC Franchise Rule, and gross revenue is not profit — it is stated before royalties, rent, staff and every other cost.

Profile changelog

Jul 30 Initial FDD data extracted (partial) — FDD pipeline batch

Similar brands to compare

Facts on this page are sourced from a third-party archive's copy of Ace Hardware's Franchise Disclosure Document, not filed with us directly — treat figures here as one step further from the original filing.

Item 7 was disclosed as itemized components rather than a single total in the accessible preview: startup inventory $150,000-$600,000, interior decor $7,000-$14,000, exterior signage $2,500-$25,000(approx, OCR-garbled), insurance $2,500-$30,000, training $35,000 - not summed into item7_total_low/high because the preview did not present a single combined range and summing independently would risk double-counting/inventing a figure. Item 19 references a 'Retail Financial Report' compiled by Profit Planning Group from ~1,100 stores (~25% of domestic stores) with profit margins disclosed in ranges, but exact figures weren't in the free preview. Litigation/bankruptcy/territory/non-compete not visible in the paywalled preview; per instructions, large mature brand so left null rather than guessed. A full 2014 FDD exists at fddexchange.com but was blocked by robots.txt on this pass.